What does A level mean?



GCE A Levels (General Certificate of Education Advanced Levels) are qualifications normally studied by UK students over two years in year 12 and 13 of secondary school. GCE A Levels are also studied in sixth form colleges or further education colleges.

Most students choose to take three or four A Levels, although only three are necessary to make an application to a course at this university. The University considers a wide range of A Level equivalents from the UK, EU and international communities. EU and International equivalent qualifications can be found via the links below. 

Entry requirements for our undergraduate programmes can be found here.

Related Topics

Contact Us

Chat with us live

Chat with one of our friendly enquiries Team

Monday - Friday 9.00 - 4.00 (GMT)




Submit a Question

If you could not find an answer to your question then you can ask the Enquiries Team.

Your Info
Fields marked with * are required.

Terms and conditions

By submitting this form, you agree to receive further communications from the University of Liverpool. To opt out of these communications, please email our enquiries team. Any personal information you provide will be held in accordance with the provisions of the Data Protection Act 2018. We will not sell, licence or trade your personal details to any third party. For more information, please see our Website Terms and Conditions of Use